Week thirteen and counting, but don’t tell the birds


Photo by Dave, pottery by Ellen

Spring continues to impress, we are still sheltering in place, with occasional  socially distanced, outdoor visits with friends. The birds are still enthusiastic about the feeders that Dennis provides.  I am smitten with my bluebird neighbors.  Their nest is just a few feet from our bedroom window and I have been observing it regularly from the beginning.  One of the advantages of being home, continuity.

We had a surprise when we peaked into the wren nest we were monitoring.

Dennis thinks the chicks fledged, the snake looked too small to him and showed no signs of a recent meal.  I’m not totally convinced.

The cicada are still with us.  Their task is to reproduce and lay eggs.

I had to take a second look at this double image

Among other things, the cicada provide a lot of  nutrition to animals big enough to eat them.  Several fell into our pond,  quite possibly making the turtles very happy.

 

My daily walk usually includes the pond.

 

And the woods

Dennis is busy with the birds and the bees, with his daily nature walk with Claire and…

at the wood shop.

a load of wood, delivered and stacked by friends this week

visitors admiring the shaving pile. (note: Dennis is carrying the snake seen above to put into my shop to eat mice)

And I just happened to see this endearing sight from my bedroom window

I’m doing fine. I’ve started a weight work out 2-3x a week. And at the moment,  I’m 13 days into a new daily home yoga practice.  It was humbling to connect with my stiff body.  My instructor’s dog is always asleep next to her.  Sometimes I have company too.

I’ve also rediscovered the pleasure of reading in the hammock.

 

 

 

 

Categories: Woods Gap

3 comments

  1. Beautiful photos. I too love our local blue birds! Thank you

    • Such a relaxing and descriptive blog. The bluebird photo belongs on a magazine cover. Come on now even a doe and fawn! It was a relaxing blog. Thank you!

  2. Beautiful images of a full and lovely life

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.